Home

This is the part of the villa I’m in. It’s about a third of the total size.. and this is big.. three bedrooms each with their own bathroom upstairs and kitchen, living, study and dining downstairs. Big families, big houses. A swim this morning and a walk. We only saw two others.
A nice farewell lunch at work for my colleague and me. Our manager still isn’t sure what to do. Some lovely words and well wishes from everyone and a little gift of an Imani silver bracelet. I’ll miss my colleagues.
One of them who has been here for 20 years told me to stay. The people here are very good and kind and friendly, he said. But this one, he is different. He’s not sure if he’ll stay or go home to Egypt. I was unlucky to find him.. and nether of us have our final salary.. maybe next week.
We left to find a taxi. R told me how little he pays, I pay easily 4 times as much.. foreigner prices.. we couldn’t find one but a local man beeped at us so my colleague said let’s get in. Easier if you’re a male! This is actually the second time this has happened. The first time I was alone and didn’t get in, despite the man saying but I’m Omani. My colleague was dropped off first. They spoke English and Arabic and he explained what we do. The local knew the Institute.. I was then dropped off with offers of help if ever I needed it. This man had helped a Lebanese woman the day before who’s stuck here with no work. The man kept talking. He’s studied in Malaysia and will do his PhD soon. Maybe I could help with his English exam, and he could help me here. 15 minutes later I managed to leave. Friendly guy, sooo chatty!
Dinner, a glass of wine, bed.
1,318 cases

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.