Window on the world

Finally a few sunny days are forecasted with acceptable temperatures. Yesterday a big wind came through and blew out all the smog. So, a good view of the mountains today all around. Though, by noon time today, the usual brown haze was already forming over the greater Lombardy - cars, traffic, heating oil and gas, industry... etc.

Getting out for a bike ride is better than a day on the trainer - any day! A good lunchtime ride today though definitely feeling it. Hard to push the taller gears especially with a head wind. Anyway, glad to be outside and riding!

This is from the midpoint of my usual 19 km short lunch ride crossing the Adda river. In the summer, the causeway by the bridge is full of sunbathers. I was obliged to stop here for the first half of last summer to catch my breath. Later in the year, as I got in better shape and extended my ride, I wouldn't stop at all. Now, I am back to basics.

View is to the corner of Castello Borremeo, the Adda River and the Orobi Mountains beyond and above Bergamo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.