Roses all the way. Early morning in the garden.

I had a busy morning yesterday having been up so early 
I had three lots of washing done, each hung out on the line and then dried in no time. I did it to get ahead in case we have heavy rain (forecast for today).
The towels were like boards when I put them into the laundry basket before lunchtime! 
I remade our bed with the newly washed and dried sheet. duvet cover and pillow cases. I love the smell of freshness when they've been outside.
By lunchtime it was almost 30C. I think we are getting used to hotter summers. It was 33C at Heathrow Airport (according to the news) as there is a weather station there. Still hardly any planes flying anywhere. 
I have the FlightRadar24 App on my phone. The skies still remain very clear of vapour trails. 
My friend Bobbie (Barbara) came yesterday afternoon. I hadn't seen her for 3 months. She is the one I used to meet on a Thursday afternoon at one of the local garden centres, and had had a bad stroke (November 2017) which affected her speech.  
She still finds difficulty with putting longer sentences together, but can drive her car and has an amazing ability to remember how to get to various places. It is a half hour drive from her home here. And she was really looking forward to sitting in the garden. 
The lockdown has been hard for her, as she lives alone and her two daughters in London. One of them still comes up every weekend to stay, along with her young son.   
We sat in the garden along with Stephen, at the patio table under the umbrella, and it was good to see her looking so well.  
She left around teatime, and I then sat in my relaxer garden chair, in the shade of the rowan tree which borders our garden, and looked up into the clear blue sky as a breeze rustled around me, and thought it was like being on holiday, it only  needed the sound of the sea to complete the effect!
     How blessed to be able to drink it all in. Good to have a day to savour and leave the reality outside for awhile. 
We had our tea outdoors once again. 
It was a sticky night for sleeping, we ended up in separate rooms. I woke after intermittent sleep, at 5.00 am and decided to make a drink. 
   I opened the patio door, all the windows, and the back door as the house had retained heat from yesterday. 
Wandered off up the garden, and loved being out there. 
Took the photo along with several others in case the glorious  tumbling shrub roses eventually suffer if we have any downpours. 
Time for a coffee.  
Extra of the verbena.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.