Flour

Towards the end of April (20th I've just checked Blip), I took delivery of a 16 kilo bag of bread flour. At the time I really didn't know how long it would last and I gave some away to people who couldn't get flour in the shops. That bag is on the right. On the left is the replacement bag which arrived today - I'll finish the first bag over the weekend as I have an order for 2 focaccia. 

A couple of tips that I would share with anyone else planning to bulk buy flour. Firstly, you'll see that the bag is in a box. This stops me getting flour everywhere. I use a mug as a scoop and ladle it into an old flour bag. The other thing is to note that the box is on a chair - I'm not ending down if I can have the thing at an easier height. The other part of my flour purchases is due tomorrow, it's 7.5 kilos of Eight Grain flour which will be lovely for granary-type bread, I'm thinking 50:50 with white but I'll experiment and let you know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.