Nature

Friday 26th June 2020

I worked this morning but then the sun came out mid afternoon and I decided to go out exploring with the camera again. This time I went to find the Three Sisters Recreation area. It took a bit of finding as one of the signs was missing, but I got there eventually. 

There is a cafe by the lake, not open yet of course. There's also a nature walk around some wetlands and a bird hide, which also wasn't open. I didn't walk very far but I had a great time immerse in nature of photographing a variety of things. I'm beginning to get a higher percentage of successful shots and I couldn't decide between these. I wanted to post the grasshopper, as I don't think I've photographed one before and it didn't hang around too long this time either. I also wanted to post the damsel fly. I've taken loads of pictures of damsel flies before but never while one was having its lunch!  

It was only a small reserve but there was plenty to see. There were two big dragonflies on one pond and I really wanted a photo of them but they just wouldn't rest for a second. It's not the quietest of reserves as it is right next to the race track and cars were zooming round. One day I will go there for some sports shots, now I know where it is. The reserve would certainly be worth going back to.

Can anyone identify the bird? I take it it's a thrush but not sure which. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.