Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Meadow

I've found a couple of new (to me) orchid rich spots in my local patch over the last couple of weeks. Another product of being out a couple of hours a day rather than a couple of hours a week. From what I can tell they're all Common-spotted rather than Heath-spotted (large central lobes and spotted leaves) but I try to remember to check.

I had the day off today, and expecting a rainy afternoon I went for a morning walk under an overcast sky. It rained a little, but only a refreshing summer spray. It was still warm enough for there to be a fair few butterflies about and I saw my first Hummingbird Hawk-moth of the year, presumably a recent migrant from the continent in this hot spell.

I was back out after lunch to go and play some football with the kids - by this time the dark clouds had disappeared so it was a bit hot for that really. A space shuttle was coming in to land a bit further up the moor (extra).

Then a proper thunderstorm arrived at tea time, so I stuck my head out of the velux to enjoy that.

An evening, possibly a weekend, of Glastonbury nostalgia awaits, although my visits were before the televised era so I have to rely on grainy unofficial films on YouTube - Pixies 1989 was absolutely the best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.