wild & precious life

By IrwellRiver

A taste of normality?

Not sure what I made of today (back blip - was supposed to be posted for Friday 26th).

In the sweltering heat, I made my way to Jesmond for the first time in months. Firstly, I posted a sympathy card for my friend through her letterbox. I had wanted to buy a gift to go with it, to leave on the doorstep, but I had limited time and there were queues outside all the shops :( This presented another problem as I had no lunch with me and needed to buy some somewhere! Thankfully I noticed this Subway which was empty and it felt good to do something spontaneously without having to queue!
Being there reminded me of living in Rome in the
summer months (& popping into a bar for a tramezzino) when the temperature is soaring and the city is practically deserted due to the heat.
For a brief moment, it felt like life as normal. The staff were friendly and not behind a perspex screen or masks which for a brief joyous moment felt like life pre-Covid. I was at a distance on a blue dot on the floor but apart from that I felt a surge of gratitude.

I then unlocked the big main door to the work building that I used to dart in and out of all the time. I signed in, using my own pen as per the protocol, and had my antibacterial wipes ready to clean anything I touched (door handles, door code). I made myself comfortable in the room that had been allocated to me for the afternoon/evening and set up my laptop for remote appointments. It was very strange to not be conducting my sessions from home and a novelty to be back in the work building...but nothing was the same! No colleagues to chat to, no buzz in the café, no 3D human interaction. If anything it made me more acutely aware of everything I have been missing. Think I will at stay home for a little while longer!

Apparently my dogs missed me. Hubby was at home today working and he said it all felt very odd without me. Nice to be missed. My GSD was stuck to me once I got home ..see extra!

I've accidentally posted this on Saturday instead of Friday (was backblipping but not concentrating)! So my Silly Saturday tribute entry for Admirer is now posted in Friday's spot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.