Up Close!

This is a female Eastern Pondhawk Erythemis simplicicollis. She was perusing some plants in our front yard, not anywhere near the 'pond'. Pondhawks are a species of Skimmers. The female is this lovely green whereas the male is a kind of powdery blue. 
I struggled a bit in deciding which photo to make my main blip today. Do check the *extra...for the very close runner-up, a Red-shouldered hawk. She was waaaay up in a pine tree and being harassed by a mob of crows. 
*I dedicate my blip today to Willemien aka Admirer. She passed from this realm last weekend. She was a kind, beautiful soul and I dearly loved the photos she shared with us. She hosted 'SillySaturday' for many years. I couldn't bring myself to post a 'silly' image today but I believe that she would enjoy this Dragonfly!  I'm holding her and her loved ones in my heart. She will be missed beyond any words.*

'May you touch dragonflies and stars, dance with fairies and talk to the moon.'
__Unknown

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.