misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

My New Mobility

Just delivered, all set up with both batteries charged. It is called a Pride Victory 10. I may just call it "Vic" or "Victoria."
It was with heavy nostalgia that my beloved Rascal scooter went to a new home as a scooter that no longer works. I tried everything I knew to get it going again, but finally a brand new scooter seemed the only way I was going to be able to get to all the parts of my garden. Walking is limited for me and so is keeping balance.
Two colour choices: this electric blue or candy apple red. The red seems too flashy for garden work. Victoria is smaller and lighter weight than the Rascal. That scooter was more like a small tank. 
I'll have to pad the seat because there are NO shock absorbers at all to keep my bones from bouncing at every bump in the lawn.
And, of course, I had to figure out how to get rid of the old Rascal (With more than 25 years service, I am the third owner.) With batteries and all the garbage man would not take it away. And there are many useable parts on it if someone needed replacements. Rascals are no longer made.
So, I put an ad in Craigslist. I have never done that, but the online directions were clear. I got one response. A man came in his pick up truck and drove away with it. I feel the loss, a wee bit. But he is going to work on it and get it running for his two pre-teen sons. They saw a Rascal at some scooter show and told their Dad that is what they want. He couldn't wait to get home to see their faces when he drove up with it. A fine Dad.
His was the ONLY response I got for my Free ad.
The monthly payments are manageable. 
Victoria has lots more electric features and a large book of directions. My gardening possibilities are back up to normal. As is Gracie Tt's gardening joy. She hopped right on the floor between my feet to ride around the garden just as she has done all her life on the Rascal. She's a very happy cat.
The man in the blip is the salesman who drove the scooter here from his showroom in Binghamton. If or when I have any problems he will make a house call.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.