The hazel is flowering

This morning I saw two poor starlings sitting dead still in the sun on a roof trying to catch as much of the sun as they could. They looked like they had a "Near Death Experience". I guess they were still shocked to realize that they actually survived the night - with temperatures around -10°C. I'm pretty sure those temperatures were not quite what they had in mind when they arrived here from their winter quarters about a week ago.

But today was a far more delightful day than yesterday - no wind and quite acceptable temperatures during my lunch walk. These male catkins of Common Hazel were the unevitable blip object of today. Hope the female flowers will appear soon. If not this rather lovely display of masculine beauty will be all in vain!

One year ago: Budding Elder (and I think I can see that I've learnt a lot more about photography since then...it can't just be a better camera?)

Cheers/Z

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.