stujphoto

By stujphoto

Macro Flash

I have never used flash before to do macro shots but I wanted to try out my blow-up flash diffuser ( as suggested by John Gravett ). Unfortunately it wa too windy for there to be any wee beasties around in the garden so I had to make do with rose buds. Using the flash enable me to use a small aperture f16 & f22 and was quite pleased with the even light which the diffuser gave. the rain drops were nicely caught with a single highlight. This in your face rose bloom give a good indication of the depth of field you can obtain. Well worth seeing large to check out the sharpness. However, the real test will come with insects where the depth of field is crucial and there are often shiny aspects to their musculature which can be difficult to capture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.