Theleens

By Theleens

Q: What do these have in common? A: Seattle

I'm housebound today so I decided to tidy up, starting with Christmas cards (I know, it's late, but I've been away). I also came upon a lovely gift my friend William gave me before Christmas. A resident of Seattle, William works with leather and knows my love of Seattle, especially Nichonmachi. He also knows I love Jamie Ford's book Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet. I had bought tickets for the theatre production of Jamie's book, which launched in Seattle last September but I was unable to attend. William went on my behalf and thought to obtain as many items as possible: program, bookmark, postcards etc. so that he could send them to me.

When they arrived, we caught up on the telephone and he told me all about the play, about the actors, the story line and how much he had enjoyed it. A few weeks before Christmas, William sent me a further package. Enclosed was a thick piece of leather, A5 in size and on which he had carved and painted the parasol used on the program's cover. I grinned from ear to ear when I saw it. It looked bloody amazing.

So, when I came upon these lovely items this morning, it made me think of Seattle. Distracted as I often become, I picked up my guitar, itself shipped over from Seattle's Belluevue American Music, the only store at that time to have a 'Cargo' in stock. This little beauty is made of carbon fibre which means it will not go out of tune, even in desert or snow conditions. I played the first song I always play on this guitar: 'Seattle Mornin' (The Painter)'. The song will be played for the first time ever in public on 17 March at a special event. There's more to this than meets the eye :).

After the event, I'd love to go back to Seattle. I could then see photographs of the Seattle Camera Club, held at the UW's Special Collections.

So, today, is a thought for Seattle, definitely on my list of places to live.

If you want a taste of the SCC's work click here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.