Pipe-Cleaning: Before, During

Outside my old house, behind one of the several brick piles, was this (left) old, cut-down scaffolding pole turned washing-line support. It kept on not getting taken to the dump and I despaired of ever getting rid of it.

Eventually, after I knew where I was moving to, I recognised its potential as a pole for locking bikes to, so it came with me, courtesy of the impressively non-judgemental removers. 

At the moment my dining table is covered in little scale cut-outs in squared paper representing my small front 'garden', its walls, the rubbish/recycling bins, my bike and my bike-trailer. Today I made a decision about how they'd all fit together and told my very kind new neighbour-with-a metal-cutter that I'd decided on 2565mm. Next thing I knew, he was in the front garden throwing orange sparks everywhere.

Once I was confident that the newly cut-down pole really did fit between the front wall pillars, I set about wire-brushing it. It took less time and effort than I was expecting and I got an approving nod from neighbour as he and family set out for Sunday ice creams.

With a bit of luck, 'After' might appear tomorrow. Or sometime soonish. At least before I receive the fittings I ordered today for attaching the pole to the wall.

In other news, my secateurs and I discovered that in terms of roots and law, some of the holly trees belong to the neighbour (the other one) and at least one of the yew trees belongs to me. I have warned it that it will very soon be a hedge plant. Not doing with yew trees yet again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.