Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Coincidence

It's my birthday in a couple of weeks and I received an early card through the post from one of my friends, an extremely talented artist. We first met in Haylodge Park in Peebles in the early 60's I was up a tree at the time! We have been friends ever since.
The card is one of her paintings, and, to me, instantly recognisable as the bridge at Mottisfont, near Romsey in Hampshire, which is where my father lived until he died in 2009. Fi, who painted the image now lives near Salisbury so it's home territory for her.
The photograph is the last picture I have of my younger sister with my father and stepmother standing together on that self same bridge. They all died within 6 months of each other and I've always been particularly fond of the photograph. It made the card even more special.

Today the forecast was bad, but it wasn't actually raining when I got up so I went out for a walk. I found the first raspberries ripe on the cycle path so of course had to sample them. This is the start of my walks taking longer than they should as I snack on the way!
I nearly made it, the rain came down ten minutes from home so I got drenched. Arriving home more than a little drookit, I changed and warmed up with a coffee.
As it was Sunday morning I had my usual home church service at 10 and then the provincial Eucharist at 11, today it came from St Paul's Cathedral in Dundee. The sermon came from that other notable cathedral of the same name in London. It was an excellent service with some wonderful music and over 600 looking in on the YouTube channel and more than 100 on Facebook too.
More paperwork this afternoon and tracking down some old minutes. We had a Chinese take away for tea. I'm so glad they are open again.
Thank you for all your kind words on my silly picture of Cleo yesterday, she is a poser!

Keep safe everybody, another day with no deaths and only a small number of new cases. We can beat this together.
14810 wet steps today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.