Warning colours

A cool, blustery day with some hefty showers and very little sunshine meant that I stayed local. There was a beautiful Privet Hawk Moth in the moth trap, Which I photographed on our willow tree, displaying the vibrant pink warning colours of its body and underwings. Later I noticed that the newly opened Corncockle was providing sustenance for a female Swollen-thighed Flower Beetle and several Pollen Beetles. The first Borage is just coming into bloom, another important plant for pollinators and stunningly beautiful when examined closely.

I went for a quick pre-dinner walk round Thorpe Wood, which was rather dark and gloomy - the yellow flowers of Hairy St. John's-wort provided a spark of colour. The Nettle-leaved Bellflower is just beginning to flower but will be at its best in a week or two. My timing wasn't great as I got soaked in yet another short shower before I could get back to the car.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.