A concrete love affair

By PhotoIain

100,000 miles

My car, a Skoda Octavia, has reached the milestone of 100k. We celebrated as Planet Rock played a beautifully timed Crosstown Traffic as the hallowed figure clicked forth.

I've done almost half that figure myself in just under three years I've had the car. I wasn't that taken with it initially; a premature and debasing demise to my much loved old car with a stunted introduction to this one ensured that. But over time I've grown to appreciate, and indeed love it too. Over all the miles and months I have only had to spend a mere £110 on repairs, when the right-rear window mechanism collapsed. £110 What a fantastic car! There might be other models with superior fuel economy performance or image, but with that kind of reliability and substance what else do you really need from a car?

It's travelled from Dungeness to Inverness, from Badachro to Bournemouth; I think there's only 6 (out of around 40) DAB multiplexes its not been tuned in to in the whole country. All impressively trouble free travels. Long may it continue I say, but I am also minded, just like my postpeakcartastic rambles suggest, it can't carry on forever....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.