Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Wall

Sunday started wet, so it was no great hardship to have a bit of leisure time on the laptop after watching our recorded church service in the morning. The forecast was for this poor weather to continue, but the Met Office app on my phone suggested there would be a quieter, slightly drier gap around 12 noon - 2pm, so off I went for my (almost) daily walk. Wrong!

I had been out of the house for only about ten minutes when the drizzle started, and then it was on-off rain for the rest of the afternoon. Ho hum. No such thing as bad weather, they say, just poor choice of clothing. Who'd be a Rambler?

Anyway, I went for a wee explore and visited somewhere I hadn't been since the start of lockdown. From Haggs I walked over the Canal and up towards Allandale, but actually continued onto what's known as Walton Road (it leads to Walton Farm and eventually reaches Cumbernauld), passing Castle Cary (a private dwelling, but pretty well hidden from the road) before finally retracing my steps back in the direction of Allandale. One extra shows the landscape around Walton Farm, another is a view of the Castlecary rail bridge seen from a different viewpoint than the usual one.

Near where the Walton Road emerges at Allandale there is the site of a Roman fort (the field was full of sheep when I passed) and some other markers indicating the location of the Antonine Wall (main picture). While there are several well-preserved sections of the Wall in the area, this is not one of them!

I have a bit of a cheek putting a Derelict Sunday tag on this photo, since the Antonine Wall has been abandoned for the past 1900 years, but that's the limit of my rebellious streak. For now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.