BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

Dear Diary

After a few days of sweltering heat,
where the sun showed no mercy
and you were red raw if you forgot
to apply sun cream, dark days are back.

I confess I’m still losing track
of quite what day it is. Consulting you,
dear diary, I see it’s Monday. Bin day.
Again! Already? Time passes. I have to

remind myself that the virus is still
out there and continues to spread and kill.
Most days I now avoid the news
but looking online today the usual stuff spews

across the screen – in some US states,
where cases are rising, there are protests
against wearing face masks. ‘They want,’ states
one Florida resident, ‘to throw

God’s wonderful breathing system out.’ And oh,
surprise surprise, Trump has tweeted a clip
of one of his supporters yelling ‘white power.’
Outside my window a fierce wind blows

while, in New Zealand, Jacinda Ardern continues
to be wonderful. But I’ve had enough of news. 
I need some music and right now I choose
to listen to The Who singing Summertime Blues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.