JacZero

By JacZero

Parish Pumps of St. Peter Port #6

Day 6 of my St Peter Port pump blip catalogue.

This pump is hidden away in the Rohais, at the junction with Foulon Road, where there is a little triangle of land with some hedging and a bench, and maybe even a phone box.

Like many of these black wooden box-style pumps it's not massively impressive, but then you look at the capped pillars of blue stone (probably the local diorite, but I digress) and the enclosure that the pump inhabits and you get more of an inkling of how important these things were.

There are about 20 pumps around the Town and I have set myself the trainspotterish task of blipping them all in a row - you have been warned. Tune in tomorrow for the next St Peter Port pump!

Thanks to Village Pumps for doing it first and saving me getting an old parchment map out from the Priaulx library.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.