Stokketjie

By Stokketjie

Dragon Sunset

It’s been a while since posting as it’s been a month of moving from being a landlubber to a water nymph (google gave me a number of antonyms but none of them seemed appropriate). I will backfill with a few posts but today has been a blustery day and ending beautifully with this sunset.

I am learning all sorts about living on a narrowboat and last weeks lesson was about the water systems on board after discovering the floorboards were full of water. I scooped out about 200 litres of water at 11pm on Wednesday after over filling the water tanks on Monday. I now know where the switch for the water pump is and how the front tank fills the back tank, slowly, and why that black line is marked on the tank to not fill beyond. I also learnt the value of highly absorbent nappies to dry up the last bits of water under the floor. Luckily the weather was amazing so by Sunday everything had mostly dried up.

My neighbours were also a huge help in lending me their wet dry vacuum cleaners, making me a midnight burger on the braai and offering a glass of wine, as well as helping me fill the water tanks again the next day to figure out the puzzle. Turns out my one temporary neighbour is the author of Who killed Christopher Robin and he makes a cracking burger.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.