Nature lover’s dilemma

This veritable army of Large White butterfly caterpillars is lining up to destroy our brassicas.

Now as a member of Butterfly Conservation you might argue that I should leave them alone in order to maximise the total number of butterflies in my garden.

On the other hand Mrs. K. has put a lot of work into growing and planting out these brassicas. They are healthy and enjoyable to eat with the new potatoes.

So how can I save the brassicas and still help nature?

Well I am also a member of RSPB. And as Large Whites are not a threatened species, if I put this leaf near the bird feeder then all those fledgling Robins, Tits and Finches will be helped to grow strong and healthy.

Can anyone see a flaw in my thinking?

To see more detail of this voracious beast look at the extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.