La mammarazza

By MarieNoelle

Homage

Today I've been enjoying this book about Benjamin Britten and learning some of his music.

When I moved to the UK decades ago, I couldn't read a note, knew very little about classical music and had never heard of any British composer. An English choral conductor let me in on these secrets. He doesn't know he did but the result, years later, is my unstoppable absorption in choral singing, piano playing, and general expansion of horizons through music. I have now sung (and loved) pieces from all the major British composers - amongst others of course.

Here comes the political bit, feel free to stop reading here :-) To me, as a non-UK national who resides permanently in the UK, the proof of my profound understanding of the place lies there, in this cultural journey I've committed to. It definitely does not lie in the inanities of the UK citizenship test.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.