Drama

My sister and I went for a bike ride. I made it up as we went along so we first ended up in Regent's Park and had a sneaky peek into the zoo at the camels and gibbons. 
As N was up for more cycling I led us into Hyde Park where we bought a sandwich and a couple of coffees which I thought might be nice to sit and eat by the Serpentine.
There we were enjoying watching the water birds, in particular a duck with two tiny ducklings, when a seagull swooped down and took one of the ducklings. I didn't even know seagulls did that. It was horrible.
Even worse was an Egyptian goose shortly afterwards making the most awful distress noises as it walked up and down the water's edge. Clearly it had lost something (someone) and nothing it could stop it fruitless search. Heartbreaking.

We walked back through the park to Hyde Park Corner and cycled back home. Nature is cruel.

N took a tumble off the bike. Thankfully it will just be bruising. I feared the worst when I saw it happen and thought she had face-planted onto a metal fence post!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.