BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - 101

Imprisonment - Day one hundred and one
Tuesday 30th June 2020

Cars - 62
Motorbikes - 2
Bikes - 0
Dog walkers - 5
Walkers - 2
Runners - 1
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 12.3c

The car count topped 62 today so traffic is certainly on the increase. This morning I saw Ginger Dog and it reminded me that after seeing her last week it dawned on me that her labrador had changed colour from black to a sandy ginger. I presume the old dog must have died or she dyed it ginger just as she did with her own hair which suddely went from ginger to black.

This month as a result of being at home every day I have cycled 413.60 miles compared to 123.97 miles last June an increase of 289.63 miles. Cumulatively year to date I have cycled 1,696.77 miles compared to 1,316.30 miles at this time last year an increase of 380.47 miles. It looks as if l'm on track to cycle about 4,200 miles by the end of year. This will be the highest number of miles I have cycled in a year since 2012 when I cycled 3,901.43 miles.

I had more of a take it easy day as the weather was not conducive to starting work on the Black Garage so I fitted the other digital tail light to the Austin which arrived yesterday. While doing this I noticed that one of the digital number plate lights was not working. I thought it would be a loose connection but it turned out to be a faulty light so I replaced it. I was then going to fit the tyre pressure monitoring system which I'd bought for the Bentley and did not use as the minimum and maximum pressure settings were not right but after a bit of fiddling about the same was true for the Austin Seven as the lowest pressure it registers is 40 PSI which is no good when the Austin Seven tyre pressures are around 20 to 25 PSI. So I disguarded that idea and moved on to the Bentley where I wanted the tyre pressure monitor gauge which I fitted earlier to come on when the Satnav is running. I fitted a microswitch to the Satnav cradle with turns on the sound booster when the Satnav is put in its cradle. The booster increases the volume through the earpiece as cheap earpieces do not amplify well and I need an earpiece to hear the Satnav. Its not worth useing expensive earpieces as they get damaged with a lot of use. So I have now wired the Tyre Pressure Monitoring System through the micro switch so that too comes on with the Satnav. A good idea as we always use the Satnav when travelling and the Tyre Pressure Monitoring System will automatically switch on and off with the Satnav. I'm not the best at electrics but did get it all working correctly although when I was tidying up I inadvertently connected a live wire directly to a negative and when I switched on the power there was a cloud of smoke as it burnt out two quick splice connectors turning them into a molten mass before I had a chance to switch the power off. Fortunately not too much damage was done and no gauges were burnt out so I just had to renew the connectors and all was good. I then started to tidy up the Motor House and got waylaid fixing one of my Tecalemit Gease guns as the grease was squirming through one of the seals. Unfortunately I ran out of time and will have to finish it off tomorrow.

Well I'm afraid that's all from me from my imprisonment as it looks as if things are easing off which was proved by today's increasing volume of traffic. I have very much enjoyed writing these notes just as I do when travelling and I'm glad to say that I have nearly reached a medium sized novel with 49,932 words including today's notes.

I will leave you with one question . What nickname do you think I would give you if you became one of the regular people I see on my bike ride?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.