Inuit Sculptures

Dear Diary,

These are my two Inuit sculptures that I bought in an art gallery in Canada over 30 years ago.  I enjoy their smooth, sleek shapes.  I acquire the bird sculpture first on a trip to Eastern Canada.  I was driving home and decided to just pop into the gallery.  I fell in love with the bird.  I had no credit cards at the time and I had just enough of cash to buy the sculpture.  That would have left me with no money for gas so the gallery owner took pity on me when he saw my disappointment and loaned me the money for gas which I sent him the moment I got home.  

The Nawhal whale has a walrus ivory horn which is detachable and the whale rotates on its base.  Not long after I acquired it, my house cleaning service inadvertently dislodged the horn and then vacuumed it up!  Luckily, I got home not long after they'd left and discovered the accident.  I immediately called the service and they emptied the bag and found the horn in two pieces.  They sent it to a conservator of art objects and it was repaired.  He, along with the bird, are cherished possessions of mine.

Thank you Talpa for inspiring me to share my sculptures! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.