The Daily Record

By havohej

Concrete Sox Whoops Sorry Vicar!

Concrete Sox 'Whoops Sorry Vicar!' (Manic Ears Records, 1987)

I remember Mikey bought this record when he went through his punk phase and it was one I had long sought after due to Concrete Sox's esteemed role in the 'Britcore' scene that was at the crossroads of anarcho punk, crust and grind in the mid/late 80s.

Concrete Sox attempt to play metal on this LP and they are awful at it. The vocals are terrible. The musicianship, particularly the pedestrian drumming, is extremely poor and the pathetically thin production highlights every hideous flaw.

Fray came round with Jerry yesterday and I said 'This record is crap' and Fray said 'Yeah, it's terrible, my cousin had it at the time and I remember even then thinking it was rubbish.' Jerry concurred as he nodded sagely and requested that we put on the Lost Breed LP.

The band's hearts are in the right place and the lyrical messages are right on, but the music is shocking. However, this is considered a good purchase as I picked it up for £2.50 in Kirkcaldy and I'd been after it for a while.

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.