Islaynder

By Islaynder

The Hills

The Gardener * was here. Apparently he'd been beavering away round the back for a while before I noticed him in the front garden.   He was attacking a tree stump with a power drill.   I took pity and went out to see if I could l could lend a hand with whatever his whacky scheme was!  He had been instructed to take the tree down to below the level of the fence and so was drilling holes at about the two foot mark to weaken it before sawing it.  Fair enough.   He had a selection of tools for the job.  I picked up the bow saw as that's what I'd choose to use for the job.  It was blunt AF.  I swapped to the hand saw but it was blunt AF.  I said I had a nice sharp hatchet and he said he had one too!   It was actually a tree felling axe head with a hatchet sized handle. It was blunt AF.  HOWEVER, due to it's considerable mass it made surprisingly deep cuts!  The Gardener (a Canuck) was hilarously vocal with his encouragement and we had the job done just as Mrs The Gardner arrived to collect him. 

Had a run up both the Craiglockharts which I've not done for a few weeks.  They do have good views!  Blip - Pentlands from W Craiglockhart. 

*the ladlady's father - he's a nonagenarian!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.