madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Disaster or Blessing In Disguise?

My wall shelves were to be going up today. I had  my usual 3 builders and a plumber to look at doing my water heater and dishwasher. The shelves were gorgeous - waney edges like the worktops. However as they were discussing how to fit them to the wall they noticed a tile was loose. Turns out they were all loose. After much discussion as to how to fix them it was decided to take them down. Well it didn't take long as the adhesive had not adhered to the wall or the tiles - heavens only knows how they remained on the wall! They came down in sheets as you may be able to see from the blip! The builders were so upset! I just laughed! They said I was being a most understanding customer and any other person would have berated them for being useless! Seems like my kitchen is facing one trial after another! The tiler decided there was no point reusing the tiles as the time it would take to remove bits of the adhesive still on the tiles would be prohibitive. So new tiles it is! I must admit to being slightly relieved - the more I had lived with the tiles the more I thought they were not going to enhance the kitchen. Although I liked them they looked too busy. I am going for a plain colour instead! Before that it was time to walk Oscar in the field - I told them I was off to my happy place! The really touching thing was the fact they both said they would pay for the new tiles and the time to put them on!  There was a three way argument over who was going to pay "me," " no me" "no me!" Later in the evening I messaged the tiler to say we would share the cost - it really wasn't his fault after all. He is going to contact Screwfix to discuss the naff adhesive! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.