Rodents rule

By squirk

Old scene, new view

This evening we ventured to Norwood Park, where we often go, but Fred suggested a different path and the "Juggernaut to Naught" sculpture suddenly seemed in the perfect place. Having approached it from the lower path, we'd never seen it in front of the city before. The sculptor, Richard Trupp, says [in an Independent article] ""I wanted the piece to act as a link between the sky and the earth, while looking alien within its environment." He adds: "I intended the site-specific sculpture to look like a sculptural exclamation mark in the rural environment. It asks questions of its own existence. Where did it come from? What is it doing here? Is it safe?"

It's been raining on and off today, which is good for the plants. I went for a lunchtime walk with a colleague who lives a few doors down. We enjoyed spotting butterflies in the cemetery – she pointed out the red admiral that's in my extra.

On a tea break this morning, I spotted the brown caterpillar in the extra. I've looked online but that didn't help me figure out what it will turn into. Answers on a postcard. It's very good at eating holes in the silver-leaved plant (which isn't lamb's ears as the leaves are too big – this needs identified, too).

Today has been a day of getting things done, trying not to get stuck in a rut and to not feel guilty about what I don't get done. I even managed to blip. Yay! Progress.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.