Polaroid Blips

By PolaroidBlips

Multiple exposure

Repsolgas tank + Repsolgas tank.

...

Unrelated, but an interesting piece of advice I read today: "If you want everyone to listen to you, get quieter. People will listen.".


Taken from here: "[...] I was with a bunch of people around a table, and had been interviewing Clive Barker about comics for a book on Clive that would be coming out. After the interview a conversational free-for-all developed [...]

And after the conversation was over, Clive took me aside. He said, "When we were talking, you were getting louder and louder."

I had been. It was a noisy bar. And I'd had important things to say and huge opinions and dammit, I was determined to be heard.

He said, "Neil, don't do that. If you get loud, everyone else gets louder to top you. And then everyone's shouting and nobody's listening. If you want everyone to listen to you, get quieter. People will listen."

It seemed like the strangest advice I'd ever received. But I loved and respected Clive, so the next time I was in a bar argument/conversation, I lowered my voice. And the more I wanted to be heard the quieter I forced myself to get. I lowered my voice...

And people lowered theirs. They leaned in. They listened. I didn't have to raise my voice.

I felt like I'd been given one of the keys to the universe.
"

(as told by Neil Gaiman)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.