Life in Canada

By MissMacPic

Canada Day

This Canada Day marks the 153rd birthday of Canada being born.  So young by other countries' standards, for sure. This year it is a very different day than usual....no fireworks, huge gatherings, and mixed feelings about celebrating what marked how the European settlers managed to take this land from the indigenous peoples who lived here, and made it their own.

Regardless, I am so proud of what my country now stands for and I hope, moving forward, that acknowledging the atrocities will be the beginning of a healing process.  I traveled into Toronto briefly this morning to photograph a few things.  I had heard that there was a 'tent city' set up in front of city hall (and next to Old City Hall) which is a square that is a popular tourist destination.

There are over 40 tents set up now and although they are peaceful protestors, they do not like anyone walking close without invitation. I took a few photos and then a man started to approach us, so we left PDQ!  The protestors are demanding that the government and police put an end to police brutality and anti-black racism along with violence against indigenous communities.

This young man who was with two others skateboarding down the street , made me smile. He had been taking a selfie when waiting for the light to change.  I do like how they are passing a man in a mask....sign of this Canada for sure. In extras are two more sightings that made me smile  :)

Happy July...and Happy Canada Day  :))

D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.