About to turn

By jMcLean

First Cicadas

...buzzing loudly in the trees across the street. I'd noticed the absence of their racket so far this summer and hadn't missed it, though I know others like W. consider it a great sound of summer. Personally I prefer the cricket chorus. We were wrong, apparently, thinking this is the summer of the 17-year cicada; that will be next year and should be a doozy.

I spent some limited time in the garden this morning, and a spotted butterfly lit on my hand. It stayed there for twenty minutes or so, tickling around, so I watered and planted some more beet and nasturtium seeds one-handed. 

A lot of stress and anxiety boiled over today for daughter I., who's having a tough time this summer. It was meant to be very different, as we all know, and there are certainly good sides to all this togetherness. Talked a lot and watched a detective show. Onwards and hopefully upwards....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.