Before the Tourists Return

I went for probably my last walk on West Runton beach before the tourists come back on Saturday, as you can see, social distancing is a real challenge - not! I liked the reflections of the fab clouds on the wet beach. I've included Extras of the clouds over the static caravans at East Runton that will no doubt the full next week, a surfer (he was actually about to fall off!) and the blackbird I told you about the other day who bought his kids out for a meal. I had another take away pizza from Byfords today, again thinking it might be the last one for a while as social distancing in Holt won't be possible so I'll avoid the town centre where I can.

Day 109 / Day 101 of Lockdown / Day 32 of Step 2 (for my record only)
UK deaths up 89 to 43,995. Weekly cases in Norfolk have gone down from 4.32 to 1.55 per 100k. 50,700 new cases in the US yesterday, a new record. A government briefing today on plans for schools. 1.6M pupils are back at school and from Sept mandatory school attendance will return. Kids will be separated into bubbles which will be kept apart. Test & Trace will be in place for schools.

In Scotland face coverings will be mandatory in shops from 10/7 but this should start straight away (something the rest of the UK should follow). Air bridges still not announced.....if they'll happen now. Scientists think they can now test sewage to identify virus hot spots up to 10 days earlier than with current medical tests - this is now being refined before roll-out. Cafe Rouge and Bella Italia go into administration. 

I listened to an interesting science programme on R4 today. Part of it was talking about initial work suggesting antibodies in blood type O might provide some defence against Covid. It also said the blood type B occurs more in the BAME community. More work is needed though. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.