movableparts

By MovableParts

Waterman

Gate #2
From Wikipedia:
A sluice is a water channel controlled at its head by a gate. A mill race, leet, flume, penstock or lade is a sluice channelling water toward a water mill. The terms sluice, sluice gate, knife gate, and slide gate are used interchangeably in the water and wastewater control industry.


Extra: After taking a photo of the sluice gate, I continued by bicycle to the Nature Center.  As I came around a flower box, I almost tripped on this turtle.  Seeing a hole beneath her hind legs, I realized she was laying her eggs.  I quickly moved off but not before I was privileged to see her deposit two pure white, golf ball sized eggs. Made my day!  AND THEN I saw a large  brown and tan roadrunner scoop up in its beak a beautiful whiptail lizard.  Clearly Roady had caught his lunch while I imagine at the same time Lizard lost his lunch today. The universe giveth and it taketh away. The Nature Center lives up to its name!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.