Getting the sparkle back

By DomesticGoddess

Misty Borders

I celebrated being unrestricted as to distance by going on a drive to the Borders, south of Edinburgh. It's an area I love because there's plenty of interest in the scenery but there aren't many people around and you can get there easily from Edinburgh. Having said that, there were a number of places where people were wild camping - I didn't really envy them, but maybe they were just glad to be out in the countryside.

The weather wasn't great, but the countryside was looking very lush: the elders were in flower and there were meadowsweet and umbellifers in the hedgerows. The last time I had been in the Borders was the day before lockdown started when the landscape was still looking quite wintry so it felt as though I'd missed a lot - most of spring and early summer, my favourite times of year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.