Lockdown Day 102

Heavy rain.

The Pilots of Pomona:
An unusual and interesting message arrived in my AncestryUK inbox a while ago ...
Hello Mr Mowatt! I hope you are staying healthy and happy during these strange times. I just signed up for Ancestry, after having a book in my possession for about a year belonging to Mr William Mowat (b. 1886 in Orkney). I bought it for $1 in a comic book bargain bin. William Mowat inscribed his name and Toronto address (265 Brunswick Ave), along with the date (1916). The book is Pilots of Pomona, set in the Orkney Islands. I have no relation to him, but I have been so fascinated to learn more about him and his history (we were born 101 years apart). I just found your family tree work on here, and it is wonderful. I was wondering if you know of any photos of William Mowat or his family, and if you know of any surviving children of the siblings. I would love to send you some pictures of the book as well, if you are interested. Take care! Sarah Llewelyn Toronto, ON

Turns out the William Mowat in question was my first cousin three times removed. Born at Garson on the island of Hoy, he was one of the children of Thomas Roberston Mowat (a son of my great great great grandfather William Mowat). He became a bank messenger in Toronto, married, and had a daughter. A few emails have gone back and forth between Sarah and I since. She sent me a photo of William's house. I have added some bits and bobs to the family tree for her interest and she has sent me some Canadian documents which AncestryUK in its infinite wisdom wants to charge me an International membership to access.
Long story shortish, Sarah offered to post me said book The Pilots of Pomona with William's inscription inside.
... and it arrived today !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.