Life in Canada

By MissMacPic

Oh, My...

...what a large beak you have!

Presenting a Wilson's Snipe. Not an uncommon bird, but uncommon for me so I was thrilled to see one posing so well on a post. There were actually five in the area and their call was so unique that it was very confusing trying to locate which direction it was in.

I have completely fallen in love with this little area that boasts such an unusual, diverse bird-watching opportunities. All these years of living here, who knew? Actually, several years ago, my father got me to drive him up here as he knew that it was THE place for birdwatchers. We basically saw squat that day, so I was less than impressed. Unfortunately, we arrived too late in the season. I am excited to go again and again and again  ;)

Extreme heat here so it is early morning walks with my camera.  If that means getting up with the sun to travel places, so be it.  With the forecasted heat, this place is close to be deserted as well (little shade) so I quite like that, too.  It is currently feeling like 37C outside.... We are breaking all sorts of records.

The rock was out of the water dish again this morning (did I tell you about that?).  I would love to see if it is a raccoon scooping it out and drinking all the water....

Stay safe and happy  :))

D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.