To open or not to open... that is the question

I am a director of the residents management company for the development I live on.  The role takes a ridiculous amount of my time and is almost a second job (I blame my mother for always saying if a job is worth doing, it is worth doing properly... but that is a different story).  Back in March we closed the play areas on our development.  A few weeks ago, old Boris announced they could reopen from 4th July but did not give any guidance at that point.  A week later guidance came out at 6pm on a Friday evening (last Friday evening), we looked at it, spoke to the Parish Council, spoke to our managing agent, our insurance company and anyone else who was willing to listen.  We knew we could not meet all the guidelines (unless I wanted another job cleaning the play areas every day...) but nor could others and they were opening.  The insurance company confirmed that we could do our best and that would be okay - along with having signs up to explain.
 
So... Risk assessment done and we have agreed to open, signs are in place,  (although they are a little temporary in nature but that is a problem for a different day), I did my Mrs Mop impression and cleaned the high risk touch points this evening, pulled up a few weeds, checked the equipment and we are good to go.  Phew....
 
Now I can start on my other list of development things to do, which is quite substantial in itself....Sigh... 
 
In other news, I also did my real job but ended up working late because I had to make up time, due to having to spend some of my work day concentrating on the play area stuff.  However, overall had a good work day and got almost everything I wanted done and am in a good place for Monday.
 
Tomorrow we have haircuts booked and dinner out.  It is the most exciting day we have had for over three months.  Bring it on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.