Skyroad

By Skyroad

Fence-Life, Pigeon House Road

It had been D's idea to spend the day in Dublin taking street photographs. Moore Street was our last call, wonderfully rich in passing faces,textures, gulls, etc. A bit edgy, but that kind of thing goes with the territory.We met this Romanian guy and his family. His action with the lollypop reminded me of Kojak. Despite the hard-chaw look, he was very friendly, out with his family, who were also okay with being photographed.

Later drove out to my stamping ground along Pigeon House Road and the Docklands. My mother was on my mind already (she died a year ago this month) when I saw this interesting looking woman sitting by the roadside (eating something I think) on one of those traveler-obstructing boulders they've placed along the roadside. I stopped and asked if she'd mind if I took a few photos. She was completely okay with this, so I shot a good few frames (but nothing really came of that). However, when I told her my name she exclaimed 'I knew I recognised you!' She was my mum's optician, as I should have known, but it was the oddity of happening across her in the docklands (she was taking a break before driving out to the airport to pick up her sister). So I said goodbye and drove farther out along the peninsula (almost dark by this stage) and eventually pulled in and let the memories surface and swamp me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.