Wading In

Today was the day I decided to get the waders on and clear out some of the rampant greenery, and some of the mud from the pond.  (See extra)  I had to take a saw to the water lilly which is triffid-like in it's appearance and growth.  I've put all the stuff I've removed on the side of the pond to give any little creatures a chance to get back into the water, and I'll finish the job tomorrow.

In other news our Humble family home went on the market today - Dad's going to permanently move in with Jane who is a wonder and has made him very happy again.  He's lived in that same house for 50+ years, moving down from Oldham with my Mum and 2 out of 3 of his daughters (number 3 wasn't born yet), when he got a job in London in the 60's.  

As a family of 5 we've never lived anywhere else, so 153 Upper Selsdon Road was the background to all my memories of childhood; Mum, friends, sisters, school, high days and holidays.  The change is a very positive one for Dad and we are therefore delighted for him, but the new arrangements will no doubt take some adjusting-to for the rest of us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.