Feed me!

This is really the result of another failed attempt to blip the moorhen chicks. I ended up spending quite a while down by the ever-decreasing pond and I was amused by these jackdaws.  The juvenile is semi-independent and spent quite some time hopping around and investigating the exposed, dried out pond bed, with the parent bird keeping an eye on it.

After a while, he/she decided it was properly hungry and started to pester the parent repeatedly over the next half hour or so. I got several sets of  shots of them as they hopped about in different areas and the two images here show them on the rim (main shot) and on the pond bed (see extra.)

What really made me smile was how the other birds ignored all the fuss: the ducks settled down for a kip and the juvenile moorhens continued to quietly forage among the reeds and the along the waterline. 

I'm assuming that the juvenile jackdaw is a spoilt only child...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.