About to turn

By jMcLean

Back door again

....with the hostas and the tree blooming. We’ve been calling it a Rose of Sharon, but I’m not sure that’s correct.

A unexpectedly wonderful evening. The kids and I had friend Laura and her family over. We stayed outdoors, and it was easy to keep a distance at two different tables and around the fire pit. Hotdogs, s'mores, sparklers, and the full moon. When it got dark we walked down the hill to where we could see some good fireworks displays in the distance - just people's own; I don't think any of the towns had their usual. Nathan said it was the third most beautiful evening of his life (he's 9). Henry, zooming around with a fluorescent sparkler among the fireflies, said "I'm eleven, but I feel like I'm five." Daughter I. took some happy videos and son D. did a good job at badminton. When they headed home, Henry said "it almost feels like normal."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.