twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

With a forecast that offered enough glimpses of dryness, I went out on the bike. South Queesnferry, North Mains, West Binny, Easter Inch.

Yes - West Lothian. After last Saturday's abject failure, I'd paid more attention to diet, sleep and motivation. More then 58.9 km of last week was the aim. 

Into the wind and out of town; following what is now becoming my normal start out to Winchburgh and beyond. From Ecclesmachan, I tried something new - up what the Middleman calls the Bathgate Alps. Or at least some of them. West Binny is a gentle introduction, then a slower offroad slog up the southern march of Beecraigs. A terrifying descent on wet roads followed by the very steep climb to Cairnpapple (I dismounted and actually walked to the top) 

Mostly the nasty stuff was done by now and unfamiliar with the wet roads, I descended tentatively into Bathgate; and onwards to Blackburn. Feeling a Route 66 vibe I then went to Stoneyburn but decided against Whitburn. Instead found the nicest bit of road all day back into Addiewell before zipping through West Calder and passing through Harburn - a place from my early 20s and the Christmas tree harvests of those wet muddy winters. 

To Camilty and a left onto the A70 and a wind assisted 40 minutes into town. 96km on the clock at Her front door, I decided to do 3 laps of the Meadows and get past the 100km mark (just) before climbed off and into a shower.

A day of all sorts - wondrous wild flower verges, a magical buzzard observation way out on the moors by Harperigg, the Union Jack totting pockets of West Lothian that haven't realised the Troubles ended 25 years ago, the Stepford Wives neatness of Loganlea, the Lidl in Bathgate I shoudl go back and shoot properly.....

She finished work just before I arrived so after several cups of tea we went out to forage for dinner (spaghetti al vongole then raspberries and the left over cherry / chocolate 'cake').

A restful evening bar the usual nonsense from the  daughter getting huckled by the police; I sneaked home around 2030, into a hot bath to soothe the aches. 

100.81 plus the 6.5 km home. And feeling OK. Now to try and get some consistency.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.