Life after Burradoo, NSW

By MountGrace

50 years later

I had a call today from one of my school classmates to tell me that one of our school cohort had died. The last time we saw her was at our 50th anniversary school reunion.

We finished high school in 1965 and in 2015 we had the most wonderful reunion. Hearing about Vicki today made me go back to look at the photos from that day.

I was head girl at my school and when a few of my classmates started to talk about organising a 50th reunion they said to me "Once a head girl, always a head girl!". In other words, it was my job to do something about it. Well, a small group of us got together and we set up a team of 12 of our old classmates and gave them each 10 girls to find from 1965. They did a remarkable job and we actually tracked down over 100 of our class and 84 them attended the reunion. We also had five of our teachers there. The girls came from all over Australia. It was a day full of joy and affection. The photo says it all.

Sadly Vicki is the second of that group of 84 to have died since then. It is much too young. We are only 71 now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.