The Shorter Story.

By ashjamesgav

LMN Tree.

I called PHCC today to set up my college placement test, orientation with an advisor, and check on my financial aid. I made all of my necessary appointments and the lady let me know that during my appointment with the advisor on April 20th (only 26 days away), I'd be able to choose my classes that I will start in August.

Once I hung up the phone, I sat there for a few minutes dumb-founded. What classes will I choose? What do I even want to do?

So I started to do some soul-searching with my old friend, Google. I went through a number of different scenarios such as being a Registed Nurse. My main drive on this was the monetary compensation and the firm need for people in the medical industry. Unfortunately, after doing a little research, I learned that there were over 330,000 inactive registered nurses due to their high-stress situations caused by the patients, the doctors, and most importantly, the owners of the hospitals. I was discouraged from this job after reading how unappreciated and overworked most nurses are.

I can't tell you the countless hours I've spent online trying to find a job that would be suitable for me in that the demand for people in that career are high and that the pay is also high. This is probably why my ideal career opportunity changes weekly, if not daily. Every time I come to James with a new career idea he has the mindset of, "Oh, yeah? What is it this week?" It's a rare occasion that he can take my ideal career of the week seriously since it changes so often.

And although I say this often and cannot promise that it might not change next week, I think I would really like to be an elementary school teacher. I have always thought about doing this in the back of my head, but haven't voiced my opinion on it at all because a) I figured people would try to talk me out of it because of the low pay and b) well, refer back to a). My Mom proved as a perfect example because when I mentioned that I think I know what I want to go to school for, she paused and asked what made me choose that.

I also realize that a bachelor's degree is required in order to become a teacher, this means I'll have to get my AA anyways, and it'll give me plenty of time to feel it out while going to school. I told James that this is what I thought I wanted to do, and that I don't want to be motivated by money or supply and demand on any certain career. He said that elementary school teachers make the least amount of money, but I should not do what I think will make us the most money, I should do whatever is going to make me happy. I almost got a little teary-eyed and I think I had one of those dawn-on-you moments which made it really clear to me that teaching is what I want to do.

Do we have any teachers (elementary preferably, but all are welcome to give input) here on blip? I'd love for you to share your experiences, and pros and cons of the job.

I shot so many adorable pictures of Gavyn with the chalkboard it's not even funny. This one was one of my favorites, though. He's such a goofball.

Oh, PS, my abs are killing me from yesterday.

PSS,
OH MY GOD, CAN WE TALK ABOUT TONIGHT'S EPISODE OF LOST!?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.