In Time To Save This Rather Sleepy Bee

Back to the yard this morning and as still no riding due to China’s mouth, I wanted to find another way to engage his brain. So we spent the morning doing clicker training. We were working on getting him to put his head down and into a bridle or head collar of his own accord...a useful trick for your horse to do when you have a dodgy shoulder like mine! We had to start by going back to some basic work...on China keeping calm and focused as he was a bit like a teenager who wanted the reward without putting in the work! We got there in the end but I think I need to do more reinforcement work in between sessions.

Back home in time to save this rather sleepy bee from the lawn before Mr Kit was out with the lawnmower. The eagle-eyed amongst you will notice that calling it a ‘lawn’ in the loosest sense of the term as it rather more than just grass!

So the next stage of lockdown relaxation is in progress...it looks like with the reciprocal agreement between us and a number of European countries, we will be going on our summer trip to France. I am still not daring to get too excited just yet...although I have ordered a new swimsuit and shorts...just in case.

It was a strange drive through our local town to see it coming back to life with cafes, hairdressers, restaurants, bars and pubs opening even with all the restrictions in place around the social distancing. I was a bit late in booking my haircut and the first appointment I can get is another three weeks away...think Crystal Tipps and Alistair!

I really hope that we don’t end up regretting it with a second wave as I am sensing a complacency setting in, especially in the supermarket. I noticed yesterday that there was no one cleaning the trolley handles or controlling numbers entering the store. Talking to the lady on checkout, she said that they had just released the temporary staff that they employed at the start of lockdown! All this just as vulnerable people like my dad are starting to go back out and into the shops etc.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.