Henny

When I was a kid this was my grandparents chicken house. I loved to play around the coop and a large barn that stood near by. Once a hurricane came through and blew over a huge gum tree and the root hole was so big you could swim in it...and I did. Anyway, there was one chicken left after they passed away. Her name was Henny and my young cousin was very attached to her. She also passed away in 1980. I replaced her before he had time to find her missing but he knew it was not the real Henny. Those childhood memories helped pass the time today as I mowed the fields.
It bothers me children today will not have such memories as they sit inside and play with electronic games instead of playing outside with sticks and mud. They are being robbed.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.