Blips by cb

By cbimages

Cheap Wooden Architecture

I've passed this pallet depot next to the A1 at Beeston many times over the years, but today it had particularly cityscape-like piles of pallets, so I found a place to park safely and walked up to photograph the scene.

No sooner had I done so than I was challenged by someone who turned out to be the foreman or the owner (I didn't ask as I expected a long answer to add to all the other bits of information offered).  He was miffed that I had photographed his pallets, but that was in case I was the press, or the media, or the BBC, or social media ("I hate social media, I despise the press . . .").

Anyway, loads of quite interesting information came my way: this was a pallet recycling depot, loads of people needed pallets and they supplied them, repaired if necessary, with 6,000 movements a week.  Each pallet could last over four years and there is a bug that destroys pallets against which he had to guard.

It went on a bit, but luckily a passing lorry caught his attention (it should have been stopping) so I made my escape.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.