Female Common Scorpionfly

I was beginning to work in the garden when F phoned to see if I wanted to go out for a walk while the weather was good.  I've never been one to refuse a trip out, so off we went.  Wales has now lifted travel restrictions so we were able to go to a local reserve off the Montgomery Canal.

We saw lots of butterflies and a red admiral flew onto my hand and stayed there for some time.( F took a photo with his phone but I don't have it.)  We also saw lots of four spotted chaser dragonflies and damselfies.

My blip is of a common scorpionfly.  It looks fearsome but is harmless being a scavenger and nectar eater.  The shape of it's abdomen shows that it's a female.

My extra is a comma butterfly which is a better photo but I thought the scorpionfly was something different.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.