BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

Deep Water

Even though pubs are open again
and we’re attempting a new normal
I can understand why
you’re keeping your distance.
We can always shout if we need to talk.
I might get a megaphone.

I’d be like the police chief in a movie
(black and white preferably)
informing an unshaven hoodlum
trapped in an old building
that he’s surrounded
and should come out with his hands up

or I could be the negotiator
bargaining with terrorists
saying I can do a deal
but only if some hostages 
(women and children I guess)
are freed first

or perhaps I could try my hand
at talking down
a young lad from a ledge
because he’s still
got so much to live for

but maybe I’d be a little too
understanding of his point of view
and say ‘oh go on then,
jump if you want to.’

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.